Awards & Grants

Did you know…….??
  •    Last year, MSS awarded more than $28,000 in grants and awards to MSS members.
  •    A history of the professional award winners is here: past winners.

Awards & Grants from the Midwest Sociological Society

The MSS:
  • gives awards in several categories of professional service and scholarship,
  • sponsors an annual student paper competition with six cash prizes,
  • offers small grants to support research by mss members,
  • and provides travel grants to members who are students or adjunct/contingent faculty attending the mss annual meeting.
Download procedural rules and regulations for the various awards and grants below. Questions? Contact the executive office by email.


Competitive Awards for Professionals

Annual Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award 
Nominations due November 1, 2020
Award Application Details 

Biennial The Sociological Quarterly Award*
Nominations due: TBA 
Application Info to Come 

Annual MSS Distinguished Book Award
Nominations due October 31, 2020
Award Application Details

Biennial Early Career Scholarship Award**
Nominations due November 15, 2021
Award Application Details

*The Sociological Quarterly Award is awarded at the annual meeting in years ending in an odd number: 2015, 2017, 2019, etc.
**The Early Career Scholarship Award is given at the annual meeting in years ending in an even number: 2016, 2018, 2020, etc.

Competitive Awards for Students

Student Paper Competition
sample cover page | sample paper
Papers due Jan. 15, 2021
Competition Guidelines and Details

Grants for Professionals

Grants for Research
Applications accepted Jan. 15 – Feb. 15 only
Application Details

Participation Grants for Contingent Faculty and Sociology Practitioners
Applications Due: February 15
Application Details
Apply here

Grants for Students

2021 Student Participation Grants
Due to the virtual nature of the 2021 meeting, travel grants have been changed to participation grants. See details for more information.
Applications Due: February 1, 2021
Application Details

Apply here

Grants for Grass-Roots Organizations in Support of Social Action

MSS awards two $1000 grants each year to nonprofit organizations doing grassroots work in pursuit of social justice and social change in the MSS geographical area.

Nominations due December 1, annually

Nomination Details



Click here for a list of professional awardees since 2008.

MSS Distinguished Book Award

Lesson Plans: The Institutional Demands of Becoming a Teacher 
Rutgers University Press, 2018
Judson G. Everitt, Loyola University Chicago

Modernity and the Jews in Western Social Thought 
University of Chicago Press, 2017
Chad Goldberg, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Engines of Anxiety: Academic Rankings, Reputation, and Accountability
The Russell State Foundation, 2016
Michael Sauder, University of Iowa, and Wendy Espeland, Northwestern University

Honorable Mention
Connecting in College: How Friendship Networks Matter for Academic and Social Success
University of Chicago Press, 2016
Janice McCabe, Dartmouth College

Culling the Masses: The Democratic Origins of Racist Immigration Policy in the Americas 
Harvard University Press, 2014
David Cook Martin, Grinnell College, and David Scott Fitzgerald, University of California San Diego

Honorable Mentions:
Organizing Organic: Conflict and Compromise in an Emerging Market
Stanford University Press
Michael Haedicke, Drake University

Engines of Anxiety: Academic Rankings, Reputation, and Accountability
The Russell State Foundation
Michael Sauder, University of Iowa, and Wendy Espeland, Northwestern University

Friends Disappear: The Battle for Racial Equality in Evanston
The University of Chicago Press
Mary Barr, Clemson University

Chicago Hustle and Flow: Gangs, Gangsta Rap, and Social Class
University of Minnesota Press
Dr. Geoff Harkness, Morningside College


MSS The Sociological Quarterly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Award

2019 - Dr. Meghan Burke, Illinois Wesleyan University, for her article, "Racing Left and Right: Color-Blind Racism’s Dominance across the U.S. Political Spectrum."
2017— No award.
2015— No award.
2013— Dr. Aaron M. McCright, Michigan State University, and Dr. Riley E. Dunlap, Oklahoma State University, for their article, “The Politicalization of Climate Change and Polarization in the American Public’s Views of Global Warming, 2001-2010,” published in Vol. 52 (Spring, 2011): 155-94
2011— Dr. Steven H. Lopez, Dr. Randy Hodson, and Dr. Vincent Roscigno, all of Ohio State University, for their article, “Power, Status, and Abuse at Work: General and Sexual Harassment Compared”
2009— Dr. Danny Kaplan, Bar Ilan University, for his article, “Folk Models of Dyadic Male Bonds in Israeli Culture”

MSS Early Career Scholarship Award

2018 - Andrea Nichols, Washington University in St. Louis
2016 - Meghan Burke, Illinois Wesleyan University
2014 - Dr. Mary E Campbell, Texas A & M University
2012 - Dr. ChangHwan Kim, University of Kansas & Dr. Melissa Walls, University of Minnesota Medical School-Duluth
2010 - Dr. Scott Harris, Saint Louis University
2008 - Dr. Jennifer Dunn, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale & Dr. Doug Hartmann, University of Minnesota


MSS Departmental Award for Teaching Excellence

2010 - Sociology Department of Macalester College
2009 - Sociology Department of Augsburg College

MSS Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award

2020 - Jennifer Edwards, Northeastern State University
2018 - Bobbi Knapp, Dept of Kinesiology, Southern Illinois University
2016 – Dr. Aditi Mitra, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, for her work with American Association of University Women (AAUW)