Society Society of Joy: Centering Joy and Pleasure in

Research, Teaching, and Practice



Cover image is of the mural "Momentum" by artist Quintis Pinkston. Mural is located at Chainlink Gallery in Wichita, KS.

Midwest Sociological Society 6001 Dodge Street, ASH 383 Omaha, NE 68182 www.themss.org





April 4-7, 2024 MSS Annual Meeting Marriott Downtown Des Moines, IA



3rd Floor FREIGHT STAIRS CEDAR E SIOUX F COUNCIL BLUFFS G HALL OF CITIES BALLROOM D DAVENDOR WATERLOO DES MOINES EXHIBIT HALL ------DURUCUE Α STAIRS Η

A - Registration Desk

- B Restrooms (Gender-specific)
- C Restrooms (All-gender)
- D Student Suite

Η

E - Quiet Space

KEY

- F Plenary Sessions
- G Elevators
- H Escalator
- I Commons

2024 ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM COMMITTEE

PROGRAM CHAIR Jennifer Pearson, Wichita State University

STUDENT DIRECTOR Elisabeth Benteman, Wichita State University

MSS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jennifer Talarico

MEETING SYSTEMS COORDINATOR Sadie Pendaz-Foster, Inver Hills Community College

LOCAL ARRANGEMENTS Aaron Puhrmann, Grand View University

PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Daniel Bartholomay, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi Jodie Hertzog, Wichita State University LaShaune Johnson, Creighton University Dana LaVergne, Loyola University Chicago

VOLUNTEER SESSION ORGANIZERS

Charity Coleman, University of Illinois-Chicago David Criger, Coastal Carolina University Jared Del Rosso, University of Denver Michael O. Johnston, William Penn University Ayday Koshmatova, Texas Tech University David Locher, Missouri Southern State University Alyssa Lynne-Joseph, Wichita State University Regina Matheson, St. Ambrose University Megan Nielsen, Midland University Sadie Pendaz-Foster, Inver Hills Community College Korey Phelan, Utah Tech University Melissa Prescott, University of Minnesota, Mankato Kayla Pritchard, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Jerrod Yarosh, University of South Carolina Lancaster

2023-24 MSS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT* LaShaune Johnson, Creighton University

PRESIDENT-ELECT / 2024 PROGRAM CHAIR* Jennifer Pearson, Wichita State University

PRESIDENT-ELECT-ELECT / 2025 PROGRAM CHAIR Laurie Linhart, Des Moines Area Community College

PAST PRESIDENT / ASA REPRESENTATIVE* Brian Donovan, University of Kansas

SECRETARY Megan Nielsen, Midland University

TREASURER Pamela Emanuelson, North Dakota State University

TREASURER-DESIGNATE Allison Vetter

AT-LARGE DIRECTORS*

STATE DIRECTORS*

Jorge Chavez Rojas, Millikin University (IL) Lisa Munoz, Hawkeye Community College (IA) Christy Craig, Fort Hays State University (KS) Lisa Waldner, University of St. Thomas (MN) Ahoo Tabatabai, Columbia College (MO) Lissette Aliaga Linares, University of Nebraska Omaha (NE) Kristi Brownfield, Northern State University (ND/SD) Dawn Norris, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse (WI)

STUDENT DIRECTORS*

Elyse Neumann, Winston Salem State University Genesis Fuentes, University of Maryland, College Park Elisabeth Benteman, Wichita State University

MSS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jennifer Talarico

*Voting member

2023-24 MSS COMMITTEE CHAIRS

ANNUAL MEETING: Patrick McGinty, Western Illinois University EXECUTIVE: LaShaune Johnson, Creighton Univesrity FINANCE**: Allison Vetter GOVERNANCE**: Peter Kivisto, Augustana College MEMBERSHIP: Megan Nielsen, Midland University OPEN MINORITY SCHOLARS: NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS: Brian Donovan, University of Kansas PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: Kayla Pritchard, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology PUBLICATIONS**: Christopher Conner, University of Missouri QUEER EDUCATION, SCHOLARSHIP, AND TEACHING:

SCHOLARSHIP DEVELOPMENT: SOCIAL ACTION: SOCIOLOGICAL PRACTICE: STUDENT ISSUES:

TEACHING AND LEARNING: WOMEN IN THE PROFESSION: FIRST GENERATION TASK FORCE:

Rochelle Rowley, Emporia State University Chris Hausmann, Northwestern College Maria De La Torre, Northeastern Illinois University Raeda Anderson, Shepherd Center Elyse Neumann, Winston Salem State University Genesis Fuentes, University of Maryland, College Park Patricia Ahmed, South Dakota State University Kristi Brownfield, Northern State University Nicole Oehmen, Livingstone College

**Per the MSS bylaws, this committee chair has a non-voting seat on the Board of Directors.

We would like to extend a sincere "Thank You" to Routledge, Taylor & Francis for their continued financial support of the MSS Annual Meeting.

Deniz Yucel, William Paterson University of New Jersey Daniel Bartholomay, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi