Midwest Sociological Society 2016 Annual Business Meeting

Friday, March 25th 4:45 PM Salon III, Chicago Marriott Downtown

Annual Business Meeting

Present: Joe Gertels, Kay McChesney, Erik Larson, Megan Nielsen, Patrick McGinty, Peter Parilla, Susan Smith-Cunnien, Kevin Leicht, Xavier Escandell, Concetta Seminar, Mattheu Derbyshire, Tom Conway, Keith Johnson, Rachel Johansen-Wilczewski, Peter Kivisto, Char Kunkel, Jennifer Talarico, Barbara Keating, Lauren Tiffany, Mitch Pravatiner, Akiko Yoshida, Meredith Redlin, Lisa Thrane, Erin Hoekstra, Meggan Lee, Jessica Hausauer, Julie Pelton, Pamela Emanuelson, Diane Rodgers, Linda Lindsey, Gerry Cox, Phyllis Baker, Tim Pippert, Deb White, Doug Hartmann, Tom Gerschick, Ron Berger, Marlyn May, Michael Haedicke, Sheryl Grana, Gary Fine, Barb Keating, Lee Miller

Call to Order, President's Report

President Doug Hartmann

5:38pm call to order

Very busy, hectic year. Successfully found new editors for TSQ. Transitioned to new director model and successful job search. Office will be located at University of Nebraska, Omaha. Jennifer Talarico will start in May as new Executive Director, but took time to attend meetings. Thank you for being here. Change to new publisher. Exciting new partnership with Routledge Taylor-Francis. Acknowledges representatives from Routledge in attendance. Places MSS in a more visible position as a flagship sociological journals. We look forward to working together.

Minutes of 2015 Business Meeting, Secretary's Report

Secretary Lee Miller

Minutes from last year's business meeting were distributed. Call for Comments/corrections/additions. Hearing none, Barbara Keating moves to approve the minutes. Kevin Leicht seconds. Motion carries. Minutes approved.

Remarks on *Sociology under Siege* roundtable discussion. Highlighted some of the main concerns. Noted ASA's presence and contribution to the discussion. More on this in upcoming meetings.

Treasurer's Report Treasurer Tim Pippert

Copies of report made available. Assets, mid -fiscal year check in, \$300,000, includes \$100,000 signing bonus from Routledge. \$10,000 in savings account. Plan is to save this bonus in a way that provides some interest. Not 1,300,000+ in endowment account, declined about 6%?

Finance Committee Report

Treasurer-Designate / Finance Chair Geoff Harkness

Main initiative: moving funds from Trustpoint to Vanguard to avoid 10,000-11,000/year in fund-management fees. Policies and procedures will be proposed to Board to protect funds.

Annual Meeting Report

President-Elect / Program Chair Deb White

Largest meeting in three years, 1300 people on program, 296 sessions, third joint meeting with NCSA, positive feedback about that. Highlights changes in paper submission process, reduce number of formal paper sessions with more people at each (presenters and audience), more roundtable sessions. Undergraduate student posters and roundtables only. Did not do traditional Call for Sessions. Instead, gathered submissions under broad topics, grouped together into cohesive sessions; 5 papers per session to allow for noshows. Attendance at sessions seems strong. Calls for any feedback. Download app. Build my own meeting schedule. Allows for updates to the schedule in real time. Push notifications possible through app. Program books cost \$5.00 each. App is the future.

Past President's Report Nothing to report.

Kevin Leicht

Business from the floor

Pat McGinty from Western Illinois University – Thanks to Deb and Lee and everyone for making sure that the Peter Hall Lecture went ahead despite no plenary speaker (this was resolved by hosting the speaker virtually).

Talks to budget woes in Illinois. No budget. No MAP grants (students). Opportunity for MSS to stand up and make a strong statement about access to higher education for disadvantaged groups.

Introduction of new officers Doug Hartmann

New Committee Chairs & TSQ Editors
Kevin Leicht - Nominations & Elections
LaShaune Johnson- Social Action Committee
Jessica Hausauer- Student Issues Committee
Caleb Bush —Committee on Teaching/Learning
Peter Hall, Michael Lacy, N. Prabha Unnithan, TSQ Editors

New Board Officers, Directors
Phyllis Baker - President-elect, Program Chair 2017
Megan Nielsen – Nebraska Director
Pamela Emanuelson –North Dakota Director
Akiko Yoshida- Wisconsin Director
Meredith Redlin –South Dakota Director [1-yr apptmt]
Ted Thornhill – At-large Director [2-yr apptmt]

Turn gavel over to 2016-17 President Deb White

Doug Hartmann

Phyllis Baker – theme for next year's meeting is *Globalization: Promises, Possibilities, and Pitfalls*. Call for input on meeting. Meeting next year in Milwaukee. A digital sociology group will participate, as will a group from SSSI.

Barb Keating moves to adjourn. Julie Pelton seconds.

6:00pm meeting adjourns.

Deb White

Respectfully submitted, Lee Miller, Secretary

